Save multiple versions of plugins



  • Currently when I bounce out a new version of a plugin the old one is replaced with the new one. I would like to keep both so I can go back to older versions and compare. Is there a way to direct hise to leave the old version in the builds folder and add the new version to the folder as well.



  • @TNTHM I believe go into your compiled plugins folder and rename the old vst so when you recompile, it doesn’t replace it.



  • @coreyu21 I can see that as a work around. Thanks for the tip. It just seems like the thing that you would want hise to do on its own. When I bounce out a new version of a song I title it [song name] v1, v2, ect. which stops the older version from being overwritten. But with hise the name of the plugin stays the same. What changes is the version denoted in preferences 1.0.0, 1.0.1, ect.

    Are you guys all going into your builds folder before each new build to rename the last build with the corresponding version number..?

    Is there a way to direct hise to look at the version number of the previous build, renames that file accordingly, and then proceed with the new build?



  • @TNTHM - its in the File>preferences>Version



  • @Lindon I have been using version under File>Preferences>Version to keep the version up to date but hise still overwrites the files in my build folder with the new builds. Am I missing something?



  • @TNTHM said in Save multiple versions of plugins:

    @Lindon I have been using version under File>Preferences>Version to keep the version up to date but hise still overwrites the files in my build folder with the new builds. Am I missing something?

    then put the version(A,B,C, D etc.) in the name



  • @TNTHM There are no ways for doing such. As @coreyu21 said, you have to go manually...
    The name of the plugin is the name of the project, so unless you rename the project's name in the settings each time, the compiled result will always be the same. I personally don't need to test different versions. If I made modifications, that means the old version is deprecated.
    Also if you use Git, you don't care about that since you can go back in time...
    If you really need to test to versions side by side, then you have to rename them manually



  • @Lindon Fair enough.

    @ustk That makes sense. Are there any resources you can point me to that explain how to use hise with Git? I haven't done that before.



  • @TNTHM @d-healey made a video about git. Although instead of using the terminal, I prefer to use GitHub Desktop.



  • @ustk I'll check it out. Thanks for the tip. I appreciate it.


Log in to reply
 

7
Online

673
Users

2.7k
Topics

22.7k
Posts